Friday, February 16, 2018

Book Review: The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon



BLURB:

Nina Barnes thinks Valentine’s Day should be optional. That way single people like her wouldn’t be subjected to kissy Cupids all over the place. That is, until her mom moves them next door to the brooding hottie of Greenbrier High, West Smith. He’s funny, looks amazing in a black leather jacket, and he’s fluent in Harry Potter, but she’s not sure he’s boyfriend material.

West isn’t sure what to make of Nina. She’s cute and loves to read as much as he does, but she seems to need to debate everything and she has a pathological insistence on telling the truth. And West doesn’t exactly know how to handle that, since his entire life is a carefully constructed secret. Dating the girl next door could be a ton of fun, but only if Nina never finds out the truth about his home life. It’s one secret that could bring them together or rip them apart.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book is not for anyone who has to get in the last word, but it is for all book nerds, especially those who live next door to so called unapproachable gorgeous guys. There’s no debating the chemistry.

 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38086189-the-dating-debate

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. No payments made between me and the publisher.



I received an e-book copy to review this book and as far as I remember this is the second Chris Cannon book that I've read, the first one was the Blackmail Boyfriend (my review can be found on this link) and I honestly enjoyed reading this one. The story was not complicated, it was an easy read and it has the happy mood when you read it. 

The flow of the story is something that every reader would enjoy and I will never forget the phrase "I couldn't date someone who didn't read, much less someone who didn't understand the fabulousness that was Harry Potter", I will surely remember this book for the rest of my life because I am a Harry Potter fan as well (and bonus, my man is a Harry Potter fan too LOL). Back to my review, I love the story of Nina and West, they're both adorable and even if they fight? I find it cute (maybe I'm weird that way). This book isn't something that will stress you out in fact you will have a hard time to put this down because all you wanted to know what will happen to the characters. How can West accepts his family issue especially his mom? What will happen if Nina finds out the truth about West? those are just simple questions that runs in my head while reading and I was really satisfied when there were answered in this book. 

I do suggest people read this especially if they want a quick read. I am sure that they will enjoy it as much as I do and I promise it has a good ending aside from that no cliffhanger. I would love to have another Nina and West story though. They sound perfect to each other and I like Nina's attitude! *girl power*

I'm looking forward to reading more Chris Cannon books, with those two books that I've read, so far I didn't get disappointed yet. 

"In real life, if you're unhappy, you need to work to change yourself. Having someone who cares about you helps, but it's not a magic anti-jerk pill." 

My Ratings


Award winning author Chris Cannon lives in Southern Illinois with her husband and her three dogs, Pete the shih tzu who sleeps on her desk while she writes, Molly the ever-shedding yellow lab, and Tyson the sandwich-stealing German Shepherd Beagle. She believes coffee is the Elixir of Life. Most evenings after work, you can find her sucking down caffeine and writing fire-breathing paranormal adventures and snarky contemporary romance.


Thursday, February 8, 2018

Book Feature: Ashael Rising by Shona Kinsella


BLURB:


Ashael is a hunter-gatherer woman, apprenticed to Bhearra, the healer and spiritual leader of their

The Zanthar are invaders from another world who extend their own lives by stealing the life-force of everything around them. They were last seen on KalaDene 200 years ago. They have returned, looking for The Vessel, a being prophesied to hold the life-force of the land.

Iwan is a slave to the Zanthar, descendant of those taken as slaves the last time the Zanthar visited this world. He is sent out as a spy, while his mother is held hostage to ensure his compliance.

When Ashael meets Iwan in the forest, neither realise that she is the one the Zanthar are looking for. The fate of KalaDene and all of its people rests on her shoulders.



 


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34097124-ashael-rising?ac=1&from_search=true


Author Bio – Shona Kinsella is the author of Ashael Rising, (Unbound, 2017) the first in her series, The Vessel of KalaDene. She is also one of the editors of the British Fantasy Society’s fiction publication, Horizons. When she is not writing or wrangling her three children, she can usually be found with her nose in a book.
Social Media Links –











 
 

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Book Review [Beta Reader]: Saving Grace by Aoife Marie Sheridan


BLURB:

Grace knows that the only way she can survive life, is to bury her past.
But nothing stays buried forever...


It’s been two years since she lost so much. Two years since she started a new life, in a new college, with a new group of friends. Two years, and now her troubles are rushing back.


When Derek walks into Grace’s life, he makes her feel things she’d hoped never to feel again. The box she hid all her secrets in is opening, and Grace might not be able to keep it shut this time.

As each of her traumas resurfaces, Grace isn’t sure having Derek at her side is enough to save her. And if he’s not, Grace isn’t sure she’ll come out the other side fully intact.


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37808462-saving-grace

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. No payments made between me and the publisher.


First of all I am so glad to be part of the beta readers. I am a big fan of Aoife Marie Sheridan's books and I already knew her writing style. This new book and genre scares me a little because things might change, I knew Aoife Marie Sheridan as a fantasy/YA writer and this new book is far from what I used to at the same time I am excited for this, will I like it or not? That's something I'd like to discuss here on my review.

Saving Grace, is about a woman who is struggling emotionally. Someone who is so close to her passed away and those dark moments hunt her down. She has no idea how to escape, no idea how to deal with her monsters but Derek came to her life and that changes every thing, will it help her or destroy her more?

Verdict time!!! This book got me hooked, it was easy to read and very straight forward. There were unanswered parts at first few chapters, I was curious what happened to Grace, what was Derek's debts from Grace's brother Emmett, things like that, but I really didn't expect the twist of the story, the revelation made my heart ache for both characters. I loved how the author described the scenes, detailed and I can imagine it in my head. I also loved how the author described the characters in this book and my favorite one was the description about Derek of course. LOL. It sounds like he's the ideal guy of every woman. I loved how Grace and Derek were paired, I am a bit worried what will happen if Grace finds the truth and that's another part that makes this book exciting. This book focused on Grace even if there was a little Derek pov. I do wish in the future there'll be a story about Derek, he still remained mysterious to me. He still have unrevealed secrets and my curious mind wants to know more.  As for the other characters, Amber I really thought she likes Craig. I do think they will be a cute pair. I would love to know more about Craig as well, I guess his side story is something interesting too. He's a broken man with a kind heart so I think he deserves a story.

I therefore conclude that this book is worth reading. I enjoyed every part of it even if I had to stop reading most of the time since I have work to do (it was the most painful thing to be honest! I only want to read and finish the book). The story is promising and I would love to read the next book for this. And!!! This book wasn't a cliffhanger! THANK YOU! It can be a stand alone, but of course I want more Grace-Derek story.

"Grief is funny like that, you think you have it under control, tightly woven together, and if it wants, it will unravel you at any given moment. Breaking you in one way, but healing you in another."
 
My Ratings

USA Today Bestselling author Aoife Marie Sheridan lives in Ireland, has two leprechauns and a hawthorn tree in her back garden, that she guards day and night against the mischief fairy folk.

When she's off duty she loves to write, read and drink tons of coffee. Oh, and she eat's lots of chocolate, LOTS of chocolate!

To find out more about Aoife Marie Sheridan you can visit her at:

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00B5W8SK6

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Aoifemariesheri

Website: www.aoifemariesheridan.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/aoifesheri
 

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Blog Tour: The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford

Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court—until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob—who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game is worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32941900-the-harper-effect?from_search=true
Taryn lives the typical writer’s life with supportive husband, teen children, and characters from her latest book insisting they help make dinner. This can be disconcerting as Jacob is always sticking his fingers in the cheese sauce and Harper can’t cook.

Taryn’s been an English Literature Honours student, an advertising sales rep and a CEO of an internet company, but writing is her first love. The Harper Effect is her debut novel.

Source: Goodreads 

 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...