Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Book Feature: The One That Got Away by Melissa Pimentel

About the Book

A modern retelling of Jane Austen's Persuasion, where a young woman comes face-to-face with a
lost love, proving that the one that got away is sometimes the one you get back.

Ruby and Ethan were perfect for each other. Until the day they suddenly weren’t.

Ten years later, Ruby’s single, having spent the last decade focusing on her demanding career and hectic life in Manhattan. There’s barely time for a trip to England for her little sister’s wedding. And there’s certainly not time to think about seeing Ethan there for the first time in years.

But as the family frantically prepare for the big day, Ruby can’t help but wonder if she made the right choice all those years ago. Because
there’s nothing like a wedding for stirring up the past…

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29417325-the-one-that-got-away





MELISSA PIMENTEL grew up in a small town in Massachusetts in a house without cable and therefore much of her childhood was spent watching 1970s British comedy on public television. These days, she spends much of her time reading in the various pubs of Stoke Newington and engaging in a long-standing emotional feud with their disgruntled cat, Welles. She works in publishing and is also the author of Love by the Book.

 




Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Book Review: The Merciless I


"Diablo...Diablo!"

A book that will shake your core both spiritually and emotionally. The Merciless by Danielle Vega has been on my list since the very first time I laid my eyes on it. Cover wise is very simple yet it will give you the curiosity of why was it covered with an inverted pentagram on a pink background. This is especially for people who love anything associated with horror and spookiness. I, myself is a huge fan of creepy books which is why The Merciless caught my attention and I can tell you, it did not disappoint me.

The story revolves around Sofia Flores who herself has things going on in her life. She mirrors that usual high school life, being alone in a new environment, bullies, weird things, and cannot fit in. Most of us can surely relate to this kind of scenario. A pretty face in the crowd of the unknown lies a story that you either want to hear or not at all. This book reminded me of couple of horror movies I have seen. The first book reminded me of Jennifer's body and Cabin in the Woods. The gore and horror are well balanced that you wanted to find out more about it as you read. It twists your mind with who is who and which is which. It got me reading the book in half day because I just cannot stop reading at all.

The Merciless shows someone's deepest desires and ugliness. It shows how a person can be so bad with their intentions. It gives the impression of not all good are good and not all bad are bad. Some good things turn out to be bad and vice versa. It shows that people can sometimes unconsciously bring the bad out of them and manifest it on others leaving them completely satisfied to see a person suffer. Don't we all get satisfied when someone we hate so much got punished by something or someone? Well, this mirrors that trait perfectly. No matter how hard Sofia tried to tell herself that she doesn't want to hurt anybody but deep inside her, she gets satisfied to see someone pay for what they have done. That is her demon.

We all have demons inside of us. It could be jealousy, pride, lust, greed, etc. The Merciless talks about the seven deadly sins in a way that we can mirror ourselves even with just the smallest details or intention we have for somebody. It also discusses how someone can be deceived or us simply to deceive others. Friends can be enemies and enemies can also be our friends but the nature won't come easy unless something triggers it to come out.

The Merciless truly doesn't have any mercy. I love how it goes from Mean Girls to a total psycho creep. I am giving the book 4.8 out of 5 rating since I think that there could be a little more spice to it. There are some scenes that are a little bit predictable but it's inevitable simply because an idea comes from another idea improved by the author. If you are into something that's a little bit creepier than the usual then this book is for you.

Thank you guys so much for reading my review of The Merciless I, as I am guest posting here on Home of a Book Lover. I am Czyrah or you can also call me Aizy, check out my social media account @aizystyle on instagram and my very own blog, The Penguin Talk (thepgt.blogspot.com). I will also be reviewing the two other books so stay tuned. I recommend reading the The Merciless so you guys can experience the ups and downs of the book, you never know, you might discover your demons too.



Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Featured Author: Tiffany McDaniel




Tiffany McDaniel is an Ohio native whose writing is inspired by the rolling hills and buckeye woods of the land she knows. Also a poet and artist, she is the winner of The Guardian's 2016 "Not-the-Booker Prize" for her debut novel, The Summer that Melted Everything. The novel was also a Goodreads Choice Award double nominee in both fiction and debut categories, is a current nominee for the Lillian Smith Book Award, and has recently been announced as a finalist for the Ohioana Literary Award and the Women's Fiction Writers Association Star Award for Outstanding Debut.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Book Tour: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum




BLURB:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. No payments made between me and the publisher.



I've been waiting for What To Say Next since I've heard that Julie Buxbaum, the author, is releasing another after Tell Me Three Things. I was excited and immediately tried my luck to join the tour when I saw the announcement over Twitter. I could say I enjoyed reading the book even though I had a hard time on the first parts of it, a little slow at first then it was getting better as the story continues. 

David the introvert, honest and smart kiddo. Kit, a pretty, grieving but moving on type of girl. Both have different attitude, both wants some change and they found it on each other. They're story is a bit odd (I didn't mean anything negative). They used to not notice each other until one day Kit just sat on David's lunch table. Since then, the two slowly enjoyed each other's company. They talk inside and outside of school. Will they have a good relationship as the story goes? That's what readers have to find out. 

I may have some hindrances when I read this book but I managed to enjoy every pages of it when I have enough time, it was like one to two hours per day or sometimes until I fell asleep. It was a little challenging with work BUT this book always change my mood. The moment I start reading, I'll definitely start to relax. The book was simple and straightforward, there may have a little flashbacks but that's on Kit's head. Reading What To Say Next was worth it. I loved how she described her characters and how she twists her stories. I bet other readers will love this book as well, light and smooth read, amazing and catchy book cover and especially that's Julie Buxbaum! I, personally, will always read her works. I do love it!

The author never failed to make her readers happy. Her works are really awesome and she did it again on What To Say Next. I am looking forward for more of her works.

RATINGS

CLICK THIS LINK



Please check out my two novels, THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE and AFTER YOU, both now out in paperback. My first YA novel, TELL ME THREE THINGS, debuts April 2016.

Please check out my website www.juliebuxbaum.com for more information about my books.

Or to follow my recent shenanigans, please check out my blog, JULIE HAS WRITER'S BLOG, at www.juliebuxbaum.com/blog/

One of my favorite things about being a novelist is the opportunity to talk to reading groups. If you are part of a reading group and would like to set up a conference call, or maybe even a meeting in person, please check out the reading group form and the reading group guide on my website.

Source: Goodreads


Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Featured Author: Marie Lavander





Bestselling multi-genre author of UPON YOUR RETURN and 21 other books. Mystery Blogger Award for 2017. A to Z Blog Challenge Survivor in 2016. March 2016 Empress of the Universe title - winner of the "Broken Heart" themed contest and the "I Love You" themed contest on Poetry Universe. SECOND CHANCE HEART and A LITTLE MAGICK placed in the TOP 10 on the 2015 P&E Readers' Poll. Nominated in the TRR Readers' Choice Awards for Winter 2015. Poetry winner of the 2015 PnPAuthors Contest. The Versatile Blogger Award for 2015. Honorable Mention in the 2014 BTS Red Carpet Book Awards. Finalist and Runner-up in the 2014 MARSocial's Author of the Year Competition. Honorable mention in the January 2014 Reader's Choice Award. Liebster Blogger Award for 2013 and 2014. Top 10 Authors on AuthorsDB.com. Winner of the Great One Liners Contest on the Directory of Published Authors.

Marie Lavender lives in the Midwest with her family and three cats. She has been writing for a little over twenty-five years. She has more works in progress than she can count on two hands. Since 2010, Marie has published 22 books in the genres of historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, paranormal romance, fantasy, science fiction, mystery/thriller, dramatic fiction, literary fiction and poetry. She has also contributed to several multi-author anthologies. Her current series are The Heiresses in Love Series, The Magick Series, The Blood at First Sight Series and The Code of Endhivar Series. 



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...